Speaking at the e-Mobility Conference at KICC in Nairobi, the engineer revealed that the government would construct 19 stations to enable Kenyans to access the electric bus system.

The BRT Line 3 runs from Dandora to the Central Business District (CBD) before reaching Hospitals (near the Kenyatta Hospital area).

As detailed in his presentation the stations will be set up along key roads and estates including; Dandora, Councillor Opunda, Muigai Kenyatta Road, Mutarakwa Road, Outer Ring Road and Huruma.

Connecting stations will be at Mathare Road, Moi Airbase, Melawa Road, Eastleigh, Muratina Road, Chai Road and Mogora Road.

Kariokor, Racecourse Road – Temple, Haile Selassie, Library and Hospitals will also host the stations.

The entire stretch is estimated to be 12.4 kilometres with the estimated passengers set to benefit from the plan being 20,800 per hour.

It is estimated that the projects will cost Ksh52 billion (Euros 365 million).

Out of the Ksh52 billion, Ksh10 billion will be used for the acquisition of electric buses.

The government will undertake the project in partnership with other development partners such as the European Union (EU).

Notably, Njau revealed that the design for the line had already been completed with the project set to be implemented in the coming days.

“Prior to fleet purchase critical requirements are an overarching bus plan covering the Nairobi Core area and neighboring counties and a business case and supporting financial analysis for fleet propulsion choice.

Also, supporting infrastructure, safety, and environment plans for both ultimate state and transitioning states,” he stated.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here